1996 Tripoli Agreement

Home/1996 Tripoli Agreement

1996 Tripoli Agreement

It could not be established that one of the specific appointments mentioned in the agreement took place in 1996. The MNLF report (1996-2005) to the audit body (OIC) explicitly states that none of the appointments have been made.1 Although Muslims are allowed to hold a number of positions in government, they are not the positions listed in the agreement and the candidates have not been recommended by the MRA. This issue of the agreement focuses on part of peace-building: negotiations between the Government of the Republic of the Philippines (CCA) and the MNLF, which resulted in a political settlement signed in September 1996. The final grP-MNLF peace agreement was an important step in many ways. Until now, all attempts to negotiate the end of 24 years of civil war, in which more than 120,000 people died, had failed to define a lasting settlement. In 1976, when Libya and other members of the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC) convinced the Philippine government and MNLF leaders to accept regional autonomy as a compromise, a solution seemed close. But the consensus reached in the “Tripoli Agreement” dissolved into disputes over its implementation and, within six months, the brutal war had resumed. For insurgent groups and their supporters, the agreement would be an indicator of the seriousness with which the government has committed to finding and sticking to a solution acceptable to both sides. The government hoped that the agreement would show how the aspirations of the population for social justice and self-determination could be countered by a peaceful political struggle, without resorting to a war for secession (in the case of MILF) or the overthrow of the government (as in the case of the armed left). As requested by the 1996 agreement, the Philippine legislature adopted the Republic Act 9054 or Expanded ARMM Law in 2001 and the referendum on the provinces that would join the new ARMM was scheduled for August 2001. Of the 14 provinces and 9 cities of SZOPAD that voted in the referendum, only one other province (Basilan) and one city (Marawi) voted in favour of joining the new expanded ARMM.

Thus, the new ARMM was composed of Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Tawi-tawi, Sulu, Basilan and Marawi.1 The 1996 peace agreement provides for various provisions, such as the ARMM for the creation of a regional economic planning and development committee, tourism promotion measures, the power of the ARMM to encourage tax holidays within its power and resources in the area of autonomy , to adopt a regional tax code and a regional tax code. to promote the creation of banks and banking agencies as well as the creation of an Islamic banking unit within the ARMM. ARMM, in agreement with the Central Bank, was allowed to accept foreign financial and economic subsidies, issue its own bonds, treasury bills and debt securities. The peace agreement requires the fiscal autonomy of the ARMM, grants preferential rights to the exploration, development and exploitation of natural resources in the area of autonomy, respecting existing rights in the exploration, exploitation and exploitation of natural resources. The internal tax levied by the ARMM region should be allocated for a period of five years to the autonomous communities of the region, under the annual general appropriation law, which could be renewed on the basis of reciprocity between the national government and the regional autonomous government.

Por | 2021-04-07T19:49:49+00:00 abril 7th, 2021|Sem categoria|0 Comments

Sobre o autor: